× Close

Olwethu from South Africa is looking for a host family

Olwethu from South Africa is looking for a host family
Olwethu from South Africa is looking for a host family

Olwethu

Preferred Duration

6-12+ months

Available Date

01/12/2022
Introduction

I am a responsible and reliable twenty-two-year-old from sunny South Africa. I am looking to become an au pair as I have always seen it as a valuable way to immerse oneself into another country and its culture. I was a high school exchange student and lived with a French family in 2015/16 and I gained so much from my trip. I would love to experience this again as an au pair and in a different country like the Netherlands.

From a very young age, I have been intrigued by people: their backgrounds, cultures, personalities and behaviour. This is one of the things that led to me studying Psychology. My interest in different countries has also sparked an interest in languages and cultures in me, and I feel that travel creates bridges between diverse groups of people. I travelled to New York City alone in the summer of 2018 for an internship, so I am used to navigating new spaces alone.

I am autonomous and enjoy my own company, so I don’t mind being left alone to do things. I’m a great listener, and enjoy having thoughtful conversations with people. I am very spontaneous and thrive in environments where every day is different. I also love laughing and being silly, so I cherish people with a good sense of humour and I suppose that’s why I enjoy the company of light-hearted, free-spirited children.

I graduated with a Bachelor’s degree majoring in politics, psychology, and French in 2021. I then participated in an intensive web development bootcamp because I’m interested in the intersection of tech and psychology.

Music and theatre are a big part of my life. I played the violin for 5 years and sang in choirs for 8 years, and I also acted in many school drama productions such as A Midsummer Night’s Dream and The Sound of Music. I no longer act, play instruments or sing in choirs, but I love discovering new music, and supporting underground artists and local theatres whenever I can. My friends and I often spend weekends hiking, exploring food spots, having picnics in open spaces, and finding hidden gems such as jazz clubs, vintage stores and art galleries or museums to explore around the city. If I move to a big city for my au pair year, I would love to join a netball team or tennis club since I also played those sports in school. I love doing things that provide me with intellectual enrichment or, simply, a fun time outdoors.

Abilities
Cooking
Driving-license
Make-bed
Cleaning

Preferred Kid Groups
Children 1-3 years old
Children 4-7 years old
Children 8-10 years old
Children 11-13 years old